Telegram is a very similar messenger to WhatsApp. Luckily that means that you can look out for the exact same issues as WhatsApp. They all apply to Telegram and if you find all of them are present then you can go ahead and make an angry phone call to your ‘friend’ who may have blocked you. (Don’t really call them and be angry, there could well be an explanation for their lack of contact’.
- Last connection: last seen a long time ago
- You send messages and this person does not read your messages.
- You cannot see this person’s profile picture.
All of these conditions are met when you get stuck. If the person does not respond to you but you can still see their profile photo, they simply do not want to speak to you for any reason.
How can I unblock myself from Telegram by another user?
The only way to unblock yourself on Telegram is by deleting your account. But before you do that, you must first backup your information.
Once it is backed up, you can transfer it to your new account. Before restoring your information to your new account, it’s advisable to send them a message first. Because if the person who blocked you knows it is you, they might block you again.
Once you’ve sent the message, then you can restore all your information to your new account.
How do I know if I’m blocked on WhatsApp?
Those wonderful ticks
Whenever you send a message on WhatsApp you will first see a solid grey tick. This indicates that the message has been delivered to your contact. Usually almost instantly to this you’ll see a second tick beside it. This tells us that our recipient has indeed received the message. Now most of us are used to seeing these ticks turn blue. This means that the message has not only been received but that it’s also been opened and read.
If you send a message and it seems that there is only one tick under your message, regardless of how many hours or days go by, then you can take this as a good indication that you’ve been blocked. That’s not the only explanation though. Your contact could be out of an Internet zone for several days or perhaps they’ve just deactivated their account.
Another blessing that’s a curse is the “last seen” info we can see when we tap on a contact. This lets us know exactly when our beloved friend was last on WhatsApp (and can make us angry when we can see they were just on but failed to reply!)
If you never see this information onscreen then again it could point to the fact that you’ve been blocked. It could also just mean that they’ve changed their privacy settings to hide this information.
A very strong indication that you’ve been blocked is if your contact no longer has a visible picture you can look at. If your ex used to have a picture of a puppy but now all you see is a blank avatar then you might be able to assume you have been blocked.
Video, Voice and Group Chats
Try and video call your contact. Try to voice call them. Try to add them to a group. If none of this work then you can safely assume your recipient has either deactivated their account or that they have gone and done the unthinkable; Blocked you!